Remember Me
Or use your Academic/Social account:


Or use your Academic/Social account:


You have just completed your registration at OpenAire.

Before you can login to the site, you will need to activate your account. An e-mail will be sent to you with the proper instructions.


Please note that this site is currently undergoing Beta testing.
Any new content you create is not guaranteed to be present to the final version of the site upon release.

Thank you for your patience,
OpenAire Dev Team.

Close This Message


Verify Password:
Verify E-mail:
*All Fields Are Required.
Please Verify You Are Human:
fbtwitterlinkedinvimeoflicker grey 14rssslideshare1

OpenAIRE Presentation and Launch Event Programme

Dec. 1st, 6-8pm

Opening reception at Ghent city hall, Botermarkt 1, 9000 Ghent (Google map)

Welcome by Daniel Termont (Mayor of Ghent) and Dr. Mario Campolargo (European Commission)
Keynote speech by Dr. Marleen Temmerman (Professor of Gynaecology and Obstetrics, Ghent University, and Senator of Belgian Parliament)

Dec. 2nd, 8:30am - 4:30pm

OpenAIRE Presentation and Launch Event at Ghent University Library, Rozier 9, 9000 Ghent (Google map)

8:30 Registration

Opening session
Chair: Dr. Mario Campolargo (Director of Emerging Technologies & Infrastructures,  DG INFSO, European Commission) 

Welcome by Prof. Paul Van Cauwenberge (Rector of Ghent University)
Address by Dr. Neelie Kroes (Vice President of the European Commission, responsible for Digital Agenda)
Address by Dr. Jean Moulin (Director of the Scientific and Technical Information Service, Counsellor General in Science Policy, Belgium).
Introduction to OpenAIRE by Dr. Yannis Ioannidis (Professor of Informatics & Telecommunications, University of Athens)
Keynote speech by Dr. John Willinsky (Professor of Education and Director of Public Knowledge Project, Stanford University)

Coffee break

Session 1: The Challenge of Open Access
Chair: Dr. Salvatore Mele (Head of Open Access, CERN)

"Vision on European Level Open Access Infrastructure", Dr. Norbert Lossau (Director of the State and University Library of Göttingen)
"Open Access in the European Context", Gilles Laroche (Head of Governance & Ethics Unit, DG Research, European Commission)

Panel of Funding Agencies
Chair: Dr. Kostas Glinos (Head of GEANT and eInfrastructures Unit, DG INFSO, European Commission)

Dr. Luis Magalhães (President of the Knowledge Society Agency (UMIC), Ministry of Science, Technology and Higher Education, Portugal)
Dr. Eeva Ikonen (Senior Science Advisor, Academy of Finland)
Dr. Ron Dekker (Director of The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO))
Prof. Bernard Rentier (Rector University of Liège, president of Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique (FNRS))
Prof. Gábor B. Makara (Research Professor, Institute of Experimental Medicine Budapest; former President of the Hungarian Scientific Research Fund)
Dr. Rachel Bruce (Innovation Director Digital Infrastructure JISC)

Session 2: OpenAIRE
Technology and Support of EC Open Access Policies
Chair: Dr. Mike Hatzopoulos (OpenAIRE Coordinator, Professor of Informatics & Telecommunications, University of Athens)

"The OpenAIRE Infrastructure", Dr. Donatella Castelli (OpenAIRE Technical Director, CNR-ISTI)
"Demonstration of OpenAIRE Platform: eInfrastructure Functionalities, Deposition, Access, Support", Dr. Paolo Manghi (OpenAIRE Technology Manager, CNR-ISTI) and Natalia Manola (OpenAIRE Senior Engineer, University of Athens)
"OpenAIRE in the Member States", OpenAIRE National Open Access Desks

15:15 Coffee break

 Panel on the Future of OpenAIRE
 Chair: Astrid Van Wesenbeeck (Executive Director of SPARC Europe)

Dr. Gregor Hagedorn (Research Scientist, Julius Kühn-Institute (JKI), Federal Research Centre for Cultivated Plants)
Dr. Frederick Friend (Honorary Director Scholarly Communication UCL)
Dr. Jean-Claude Guedon (Professor of Comparative Literature at the Université de Montréal)
Dr. John Willinsky (Professor of Education, Stanford University, Director of Public Knowledge Project)
Dr. Carlos Morais Pires (Project Officer, DG INFSO,  European Commission)